Would you let a self-driving car take your children to school?

Although we might see a huge improvement in the following years, it still makes us feel uncomfortable to let a car drive itself, and for sure it will be like that for quite some time.

Enrique Llanes
6 min readJun 24, 2022

--

Photo by Super Snapper on Unsplash

Monday morning. My alarm clock rings at 7.00 am to wake me up and a new day starts after a busy weekend. It is freezing outside, the streets are covered with a soft white blanket as it has been snowing all night long.

Once I get downstairs I shout to my kids to get ready for school. Like every morning the car will pick them up at 7.45 am and, as usual, I might have to pay the delay fee again.

They run down the stairs, pick up their breakfast to go and get outside. The white vehicle opens its doors and as soon as they get into the car, it goes down the white street smoothly. There isn’t any driver and although I’ve been using this service for several years now, I still don’t get used to it.

I’m still from the times when we drove cars ourselves.

Not so far away in time

Since the Google car broke the news a few years ago, self-driving technology has taken the leap forward and lots of interesting…

--

--

Enrique Llanes

4X Top Writer // Tesla fan. Technology enthusiast. AI will change the world. Madrid.